Wednesday, September 12, 2007

Dallas City Council Committees

The Dallas City Council Committees were announced yesterday. The committees are where most of the work gets done, since the new ideas are often introduced via committee and then moved for discussion and vote amongst the entire City Council. What happened to senior council member Angela Hunt being the chair of a committee? At looks like the new mayor is showing us what to expect for the next four years. If you do not agree with him, you will be punished.

Councilwoman Vonciel Jones Hill is a member of Finance and Audit, Transportation and Environmental and Housing committees. She is the Vice Chair of the Quality of Life Committee and she will serve the community well on these committees..

Finance, Audit & Accounting Committee:Mitchell Rasansky (chair), Jerry Allen (vice-chair), Dr. Elba Garcia, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Ron Natinsky, Dave Neumann

Public Safety Committee:Dr. Elba Garcia (chair), Dwaine Caraway (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Tennell Atkins, Sheffie Kadane, Ron Natinsky, Dave Neumann, Mitchell Rasansky

Transportation and Environment Committee:Linda Koop (chair), Sheffie Kadane (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Carolyn Davis, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Pauline Medrano, Ron Natinsky

Economic Development Committee:Ron Natinsky (chair), Tennell Atkins (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Dwaine Caraway, Sheffie Kadane, Linda Koop, Mitchell Rasansky, Steve Salazar

Housing Committee:Steve Salazar (chair), Carolyn Davis (vice-chair), Tennell Atkins, Dr. Elba Garcia, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Linda Koop, Pauline Medrano

Quality of Life and Government Services Committee:Pauline Medrano (chair), Vonciel Hill (vice-chair), Carolyn Davis, Angela Hunt, Sheffie Kadane, Dave Neumann, Steve Salazar

Trinity River Project Committee:Dave Neumann (chair), Dr. Elba Garcia (vice-chair), Dwaine Caraway, Carolyn Davis, Linda Koop, Pauline Medrano, Mitchell Rasansky, Steve Salazar

Mayor’s Task Force on Southern Sector Economic Opportunities:Tennell Atkins (chair), Ron Natinsky (vice-chair), additional members from other governmental entities and the private sector

Marketing Task Force:Dwaine Caraway (chair), additional members from the council and the community.

No comments: